Introduction

Blockchain Gamer & Ark Tribe 

Ark Tribe is the result of a think tank that went by the name of Blockchain Gamer, from the cryptocurrency community, that aimed to find innovative uses of blockchain in video games, and a real use case that could meet the needs or demands of the video game ecosystem. 

You will find the documents and studies on which we based our work on the website of "Agence Française du Jeu Vidéo." Some recent studies reinforce the points that this group had already put forward at the time, I may refer to them. This is not an anachronism, but a note to show that what was said is still relevant today. 

Started by myself, based on my experience as a player in high level guilds on most MMORPGs at their hour of glory, and many "solo" games quickly joined by other players, the group had enriched its discussion on the needs and desires of the players of today and tomorrow, by reading numerous studies on video games and technology available or that would be available in the future. 

It seemed relevant to listen to people of all ages in order to have a wider panorama, and to meet the needs of those who will be the buyers of the next generation of games.

From a perspective looking to the future, and in a reflection on solutions for the long term, we had in multiple channels (Discord, Slack, private messages on Telegram, on Skype, E-mail and private forums) discussed subjects like "the qualities that a game should have to meet the expectations of duration, quality, and universality" of current players. 

There appeared some major needs that guided us to the solutions that I would present later in detail. These needs can be summed up by a motley search for difficulty, a nostalgia for the social game, and a need to recognize the cultural character of the game. 

The Thoughts of Blockchain Gamer

Observations On Challenge

It has to be said that not all players aspire to a similar difficulty. The average video game is no longer the prerogative of adolescents in search of personal challenge, it has become widely popularized. You will find appendix references to the studies of the AFJV (French Agency of Video Games), which show that today a very different population plays video games.

From Blockchain Gamer, discussions have emerged regarding a need for challenge, such as those of video games that came before. By looking at what they thought was "better before" we were able to find several elements that determined their discontent. 

Before the arrival of the MMORPGs and their massive adoption, there was little or no quest indicators in mini-maps, for example. We had to explore every corner of every place we went to, talk to each NPC (non-player character) to find quests, and explore the game maps ourselves for monsters or rewards.

In today's MMORPGs, each quest is announced on the mini-map (miniature map of the player's immediate environment, usually at the top right of the screen) which is standard for MMORPG systems. The storyline transports you from one place to another with laser-guided precision; It is not hard to find what you are looking for.

If there is a demand from players who want to be able to play "without breaking their heads" and who like to be carried away by the storyline, others regret not being able to "choose to explore" rather than be led through the game by a questline.

Open world games, where you can go anywhere, could have provided a solution for these players, if it was that "anywhere else than where the next quest leads, there's nothing exciting", and so the interest, for them, of the open world is limited to being able to look at beautiful landscapes, nothing interesting. 

If this is not a universal point of view, and not all games are RPGs (role playing games) it is interesting to see that even on other types of games, this point comes back. So, on platform games (where you have to jump, move from one platform to another) you have exactly the same opposites "It's too easy" and "it's impossible" depending on agility and the customer's machine.

Observations On Multiplayer Interaction

Another observation is that today, we play on PCs, consoles, laptops, and smartphones (more and more) but we isolate ourselves when we play. "The online modes or multiplayer is the blank" insisted adults, against a "no, they are cool" in adolescents. 

From this opposition, a most interesting discussion was born. Initially opposed on the subject, after much discussion, was born a consensus that it would be much more fun if the multiplayer, without making an obligation, could be played by several people whose presence and physical interaction would affect the game.

But everyone, regardless of age and occupation, has shown a growing appetite for immersive games where you feel you live the story. Also, if they are currently reluctant to spend on virtual reality equipment, they admit that they would be happy to spend on this type of equipment if a serious game comes around that meets all their other expectations.

The most technical people of the group had reflections on another challenge of today's games, and more so, of tomorrow. As said above, we play on several mediums, but each of these mediums run different operating systems.  The consoles all have their own different OSs. On the PC there are Mac OSX, Linux, and Windows. On laptops, there is Android, Windows and others.  There are different screen resolutions (digital screen size), and uncalibrated performance and capabilities of each device to contend with.

So what? What to do?

It goes without saying that to make a different version for everyone is time-consuming, unsustainable, and undesired in cases where you have the choice to do otherwise. The proof is, if you need it, that the best selling point of Unity 3D, Game Maker Studio, and RPG Maker is that you can "publish for all consoles and OSs" with a single, unchanging codebase. 

In the world of application development (including video games) cross-platform solutions also abound, including Visual Studio (software used to make programming from Microsoft) that even offers the power of C# and other languages, to make programs for Android or Linux.

This is where solutions began to appear.

As mentioned above, Unity 3D and Game Maker Studio offer complete solutions to develop only one codebase, and publish for all platforms.  Steam, a distribution platform, allows you to make available your game (software, video, book, etc.) for all platforms. For niche users, games/software publishing is handled through different channels for each OS.

Nvidia, the manufacturer of motherboards and graphics cards, also offers a solution to this problem, which goes through the cloud: GeForce NOW.  A service running on its famous GeForce graphics cards, it allows players to play games in a fluid way, one in which your PC does not need the necessary hardware resources. You can find the technical details on Nvidia's product site for GeForce NOW.

Many other studies and proposals that were conducted were, unfortunately, lost when the group dissolved. However, from the studies and agencies mentioned that I was able to find online, and these discussions in which I participated, was born Ark Tribe. 

Ark Tribe's birth

In order to utilize the results of Blockchain Gamer, and for the stated purpose of creating a new think tank, but more in-depth and more professional, I created Ark Tribe. This group was not intended to grow as fast as Blockchain Gamer, and it is not currently huge either. 

The Blockchain Gamer experiment was certainly a success in terms of results of its reflection, but a failure on the "concrete" ideas that had resulted from it. So having amassed hands-on playing experience, theoretical knowledge about game design by BG (Blockchain Gamer), as well as a better understanding of player needs through the different discussions held by BG, it seemed to me essential to create games from this wealth of information. 

Of all types of video games the one that, by my contacts and knowledge were most accessible, was the Visual RPG format, which combines the narrative power of a Visual Novel, with the adventure feel of a RPG. There are many definitions for Visual Novels, but we have retained the aspect of "interactive book of which we are the hero". For this type of game, you need backgrounds, characters (portraits and busts), and a solid story, which holds its ground compared to a conventional book. 

I contacted illustrators, musicians, and writers, as well as correctors, obviously, programmers too. A team formed, which took a long time to have a strong heart. While it is regrettable that finding a progammer has been difficult, the programming aspect is, fortunately, a point that I can fill. This is how the project "Fairytale of a Kingdom" was born.

But in all that ... where is the blockchain? 

Here it comes! The basis of "Fairytale of a Kingdom" will be a Visual Novel. It will provide a solid storyline for the game, multiple purposes, neat decors ... but it will include a classic RPG part with fights, shops to buy equipment, among other elements.

This is where the blockchain comes in. It will store all the interactions the players make with the game. Purchases, sales, obtaining experience, objects, skill points ... all this will be stored on the blockchain.  Because of everything being stored on the blockchain, the game itself will only contain the code needed to interact with the blockchain.

Additionally because of the use of a blockchain storage layer, the shops are able to be dynamic. They contain everything that was sold, but also all that other players have sold. The cities of the game would be constantly changing state too. For example: if there were ten quests to "kill the wolves" completed by us players, and there end up being more of those quests completed game-wide, then the rabbit population game-wide could increase too much! This would mean we must kill some of the rabbits, and reintroduce the wolves. Let's go to the other areas to search! 

This gives the appearance of a massively multiplayer game, but with all the advantages of playing solo. This aspect, I called it: "Mass Ecosystem Economics" (hereinafter MEEM), and it fits as much to solo games as to MMO (Massive Multiplayer Online) type games. It meets the expectation of diversity of people. 

Regarding difficulty, Fairytale of a Kingdom will not provide an innovative solution, because the solution envisaged by Ark Tribe is both ambitious and only able to be done with the help of a team of experts not currently our current network: artificial intelligence. No, not the artificial intelligence of the monsters of today's games ... we are talking about an artificial intelligence shared by all Ark Tribe games, one that all of Ark Tribe's games will connect to.

This system will, for example, determine the level of the player, his strengths and his weaknesses and will adjust the script of the monsters to the individual player, or to the collective, who confronts them. Or, it will rearrange platforms so that they are difficult but not impossible to cross for the player. This is how Ark Tribe intends to propose a common game, but one that adapts to each player individually. 

And so ... the future SCOP (Cooperative)?

If it is not necessary to have a business for Fairytale of a Kingdom demonstrates the MEEM and its capabilities, what Ark Tribe can do as a community project, the field of artificial intelligence, and ambitions members in the heart of Ark Tribe can not be part of the community. We want to create a video game studio based on artificial intelligence research, virtual reality, and future technologies.

Introduction

Blockchain Gamer & Ark Tribe

Ark Tribe est le résultat d'un groupe de réflexion qui allait par le nom de Blockchain Gamers, issue de la communauté des cryptomonnaies qui avait pour but de trouver des utilisations innovantes du jeu vidéo, et de voir s'il y avait une nécessité, ou une utilisation de blockchain qui pourrait répondre à des besoins ou des demandes de l'écosystème du jeu vidéo.

Vous trouverez les documents et les études sur lesquels nous nous étions basés sur le site de Agence Française du Jeu Vidéo 11 , certaines études récentes renforcent les points que ce groupe avait déjà avancées à l'époque, il se peut que je les référence. Ce n'est pas là un anachronisme, mais une note visant à démontrer que ce qui s'y était dit est toujours d'actualité.

Lancé par moi-même, sur la base de mon expérience en tant que joueuse dans des guildes haut niveau sur la plupart des MMORPG à leur heure de gloire, et à de nombreux jeux "en solo", puis rapidement rejoint par d'autres joueurs le groupe avait enrichi sa discussion sur les besoins et les envies des joueurs d'aujourd'hui et de demain par la lecture de nombreuses études sur les jeux vidéos et les technologies à dispositions, ou à venir.

Il nous avait semblé pertinent d'écouter des personnes de tous les âges afin d'avoir un panoramique plus étendu, et de répondre aux besoins de ceux qui seront les acheteurs, demain, des jeux de la prochaine génération.

Dans une perspective d'avenir, et dans une réflexion sur des solutions pour la longue durée, nous avions par de multiples médiums (discord, slack, messages privés sur telegram, sur skype... mais aussi mails et forums privés) échangé sur des sujet tels que les qualités qu'un jeu devrait avoir pour répondre aux attentes de durée, de qualité, et d'universalité des joueurs actuels.

Il est apparu quelques besoins majeurs qui nous ont guidés vers les solutions que je présenterais plus tard en détail. Ces besoins peuvent se résumer par une recherche hétéroclite de difficulté, une nostalgie du jeu social, et un besoin de reconnaissance du caractère culturel du jeu.

Les réflexions de Blockchain Gamer

Force a été de constater que les joueurs n'aspirent pas tous à une difficulté similaire. Le jeu vidéo n'est plus l'apanage des adolescents en quête de défi personnel, il s'est largement popularisé. Vous trouver en annexe les références aux études de l'AFJV (Agence Française des Jeux Vidéos) qui démontrent qu'aujourd'hui une population très différente joue aux jeux vidéos.

Des discussions Blockchain Gamer est ressortit pour certains un besoin de challenge tels que ceux des jeux vidéos d'avant. En se penchant sur ce qu'ils estimaient être "mieux avant" il nous a été possible de trouver plusieurs éléments déterminant leur mécontentement.

Avant l'arrivée des MMORPG, et leur adoption massive, on avait peu, ou prou, de journal de quête. On se devait explorer chaque recoin de chaque endroit où l'on se rendait, parler à chaque PNJ (personnage non joueur) afin de trouver des quêtes, et explorer la carte du jeu pour trouver des monstres, ou des récompenses.

Au jour d'aujourd'hui, chaque quête est annoncé sur la mini-carte (carte miniature de l'environnement immédiat du joueur, généralement en haut à droit de l'écran) qui est là aussi, une adoption du système MMORPG. Et le fil conducteur de l'histoire vous transporte d'un endroit à l'autre avec une précision laser-guidée. Il n'est guère difficile de trouver ce que l'on cherche également.

Si c'est bien là la demande de joueurs qui veulent pouvoir jouer "sans se casser la tête" et qui aiment se laisser porter par la trame scénaristique, d'autres regrettent de pas pouvoir "choisir de devoir explorer" plutôt que d'être menés à travers le jeu par une suite de quête.

Les jeux à monde ouvert, où l'on peut aller n'importe où, auraient pu apporter une solution pour ces joueurs, si ce n'était que 'n'importe où ailleurs que là où la prochaine quête mène, il n'y a rien d'excitant" et donc que l'intérêt, pour eux, du monde ouvert se limite à pouvoir regarder de beaux paysages, sans rien d'intéressant.

Si ce n'est là un point de vue universel, et que tous les jeux ne sont pas des RPG (jeux de rôles) il est intéressant de voir que même sur d'autres types de jeux, ce point revient. Ainsi, sur les jeux de plateformes (où il faut sauter, se déplacer d'une plateforme à l'autre) on a exactement les mêmes opposés "C'est trop facile" et "c'est impossible" en fonction de l'agilité et de la machine du client.

Une autre constatation, c'est qu'aujourd'hui, on joue sur des PC, consoles, portables, et smartphones (de plus en plus) mais qu'on s'isole quand on joue. "Les modules en ligne ou multijoueur, c'est du flan" ont insisté les adultes, contre un "non, ils sont cool" chez les adolescents.

De cette opposition, est née une discussion des plus intéressante. Au départ opposés sur le sujet, après maintes discussions, est né un consensus qu'il serait nettement plus amusant si le multijoueur, sans en faire une obligation, pouvait se jouer à plusieurs personnes dont la présence et l'interaction physique aurait une incidence sur le jeu.

Mais tous, quel que soit leur âge et leur occupation, on démontré un appétit grandissant pour les jeux immersifs où l'on se sent vivre l'histoire. Et s'ils rechignent actuellement à dépenser dans l'équipement de réalité virtuelle, ils avouent qu'ils dépenseraient volontiers dans ce type d'équipement si une offre de jeux sérieuse, répondant à toutes leurs autres attentes se montrait.

Les plus techniques du groupe de réflection ont eu des réflections sur un autre challenge des jeux d'aujourd'hui, et plus encore, de demain. Comme dit ci-dessus, on joue sur plusieurs médiums, mais pire encore, chacun de ces médiums à plusieurs système d'opération, les consoles ont toutes le leur bien différent, sur le PC on distingue MAC OS, Linux, et bien Windows. Sur les portables, il y a Android, Windows et d'autres. résolution (taille) d'écran différente, et ne nous étalons pas sur les performances et capacités de chacun des appareils.

Alors quoi? Que faire? Nul besoin d'expliquer que de faire une version différente pour chacun est purement impossible. Preuve en est, s'il en faut, que l'argument le plus vendeurs de Unity 3D, de Game Maker Studio, et de RPG Maker est qu'on peut "publier pour toutes les consoles et OS" avec un seul et même code.

Dans le monde de l'applicatif (hors jeux vidéo) les solutions cross-plateforme abondent aussi, y compris pour Visual Studio (logiciel qui sert à faire de la programmation de chez Microsoft) qui propose même de pouvoir avec le C#, entre autres, faire des programmes pour Android ou Linux.

Des début de solutions sont apparus. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, Unity 3D et Game Maker Studio offrent des solutions complète pour ne faire qu'un seul code, et publier pour toutes les plateformes. Steam, une plateforme de distribution, vous permet alors de mettre à disposition votre jeu (logiciel, vidéo, livre...) pour toutes les plateformes. Coté utilisateurs, c'est transparent, coté éditeur du jeu / de logiciel, cela se fait par le biais de dépôts (espace de stockage) différents pour chaque OS.

Nvidia, le fabricant de carte mère et carte graphique, propose lui aussi une solution à ce problème, qui passe par le cloud: GEFORCE Now. Basé sur sa célèbre gamme de carte graphique, celle-ci permet de jouer à des jeux de manière fluide, pour lesquels votre PC n'a pas, physiquement, les ressources nécessaire. Vous trouverez les détails techniques sur le site que NVIDIA a créer, GEFORCE NOW.

De nombreuses autres études et propositions ont été, hélas, perdues quand le groupe s'est dissout. Cependant, des études et agences mentionnées que j'ai pu retrouver en ligne, et de ces discussions auxquelles j'ai participé, est née Ark Tribe.

La naissance Ark Tribe

En vue d'exploiter les résultats de Blockchain Gamer, et dans le but avoué de recréer un groupe de réflexion, mais plus approfondi, et plus professionnel, j'ai donc créer Ark Tribe. Ce groupe n'avait pas à vocation de grossir aussi vite que Blockchain Gamer, et il n'est pas à l'heure actuel énorme non plus.

L'expérience Blockchain Gamer était certes une réussite en termes de résultats de réflexion, mais un échec sur le "concret" qui en avait résulté. J'ai donc choisi, cette fois de prendre le prendre par le sens inverse.

Ayant amassé de l'expérience pratique en jouant, de l'expérience théorique sur la conception de jeux vidéos par BG (Blockchain Gamer), ainsi qu'une meilleure compréhension des besoins des joueurs par les différentes discussions que BG, il m'a semblé essentiel d'avoir à présent de l'expérience pratique.

De tous les types de jeux vidéos, celui qui par mes contacts et connaissance, nous était le plus accessible, était le format Visual Novel. Il y a de nombreuses définition à ce type de jeu vidéo, mais nous en avons retenu l'aspect "livre interactif dont on est le héros". Pour ce type de jeux, il faut des fond d'écrans, des personnages (portraits et bustes), et une histoire solide, qui tient la route.

J'ai donc contacté des illustrateurs, des musiciens, et des écrivains, ainsi que des correcteurs, bien évidement, des programmeurs aussi. Une équipe s'est formée, qui a mit du temps avant d'avoir un coeur solide. S'il est à déplorer qu'il est difficile d'avoir un programmeurs, l'aspect programmation est, heureusement, un point que je peux combler.

C'est ainsi que le projet "Fairytale of a Kingdom" est né.

Mais dans tout ça... où est la blockchain?

On y vient! La base de "Fairytale of a Kingdom" sera une Visual Novel. Elle assurera une trame scénaristique solide pour leur jeu, des fins multiples, des décors soignés... mais il inclura une partie RPG classique avec des combats, des boutiques pour acheter les armes, ou autre éléments du jeu.

C'est là que la blockchain intervient. Elle va stocker toutes les interactions des joueurs avec le jeu. Achats, vente, obtention d'expérience, d'objets, points de compétences... tout cela sera stocké sur la blockchain. Et puisque tout sera stocké sur la blockchain, le jeu lui-même ne contiendra plus que le code nécessaire à interagir avec la blockchain.

Et puisque c'est ainsi, les boutiques sont alors dynamique. On y trouve tout ce qu'on y a vendu, mais aussi tout ce que les autres joueurs y ont vendu. Les villes du jeu changent sans cesse d'état également, si l'on a eu 10 quête pour tuer les loups, et qu'il n'y en a plus, alors on a trop de lapins, et il faut en tuer quelques uns, et réintroduire les loups. Allons dans les autres zones en chercher!

On obtient ainsi l'aspect d'un jeu massivement multijoueur, avec les avantages de jouer en solo. Cet aspect, je l'ai appelé : "Écosystème Économique de Masse" (ci-après EEM) et il s'adapte autant aux jeux solo qu'aux jeux types MMO (Massive Multiplayer Online). Il répond à l'attente de diversité des gens.

En ce qui concerne la difficulté, Fairytale of a Kingdom n'apportera pas de solution innovante, car la solution envisagée par Ark Tribe est à la fois ambitieuse, et ne peut se faire qu'avec l'aide d'une équipe d'experts que nous n'avons pas dans notre réseau actuel: l'intelligence artificielle. Non, pas l'intelligence artificielle des monstres des jeux d'aujourd'hui... nous parlons ici d'une intelligence artificielle partagée par tous les jeux Ark Tribe, à laquelle se connecterons les jeux.

Celle-ci déterminera le niveau du joueur, ses forces et ses faiblesses, et ajustera le script des monstres à l'individu, ou au collectif, qui l'affronte. Ou bien réarrangera les plateformes pour qu'elles soient difficiles mais pas impossible à franchir pour le joueur. C'est ainsi qu'Ark Tribe entend proposer un jeu commun, mais s'adaptant à chaque joueur individuellement.

Et donc... l'entreprise?

S'il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir une entreprise pour Fairytale of a Kingdom démontre l'EEM et ses capacités, ce qu'Ark Tribe peut faire en tant que projet communautaire, le domaine de l'intelligence artificielle, et les ambitions des membres au coeur d'Ark Tribe ne saurait relever du domaine communautaire. Nous souhaitons créer un studio de jeu vidéo basée sur la recherche intelligence artificielle, la réalité virtuelle, et les technologies futures.

Ce sont ces concepts que je vous présenter ci-après.